In most cases, when you are injured in a motor vehicle accident that occurred due to the negligence of another driver, you can seek compensation from the negligent driver for the costs of your injuries. Typically, you and/or your attorney file a claim with the negligent driver’s insurance company, which ultimately pays for your damages, assuming that liability is straightforward and their insured was clearly at fault. What happens, however, if the driver whose negligent actions caused your accident doesn’t have insurance?
Fortunately, there is a potential solution to this problem that lies through your own insurance company. In the state of Wisconsin, drivers are required to maintain uninsured motorist liability coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. You also can carry more uninsured motorist coverage than the required minimum coverage, if you choose to do so; however, the law does not require a driver to carry more than the minimum uninsured motorist coverage. Your own uninsured motorist coverage policy gives you a source of compensation for your losses when you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.
There are other add-ons to your own insurance policy that you can maintain so as to avoid the problem of a collision with an uninsured – or underinsured – driver, although Wisconsin law does not require you to do so. For instance, you can maintain an underinsured motorist coverage policy, which must provide at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident of coverage.
Boller & Vaughan knows personal injury law and has the experience to help you through any type of personal injury claim. Whether your case involves a motorist who is insured, underinsured, or not insured at all, we can help. All too often, even your own insurance company is reluctant to compensate you based on the policy that you pay for. In this situation, you can count on your Madison motor vehicle accident attorneys to guide you through every step of the personal injury claims process.